How to Fix Droopy Tulips

With Valentine’s Day right around the corner, I feel like I should let you all know my favorite flower is the white tulip. Just in case. Jon and Harry sure know (since I remind them anytime we’re around flowers) and that’s why these pretty blooms came home from Whole Foods with us for my birthday.

How to keep your tulips from drooping with a penny | R.Simple Life

As much as I love on my tulips – I dote on them at every opportunity, I express my adoration by the hour, I give them my best smile every time I pass them – they always seem to droop after a couple of days. Long before the flower itself is gone, they’re all willy-nilly over the vase. And while I secretly love them this way (it feels so overgrown English garden to me) I started looking for the answer to keeping those guys upright. And I found it.

A penny. I had heard of this trick before but was a bit skeptical, but when my flowers started drooping just three days after I brought them home, I decided to give it a go. And imagine my surprise when, two hours after dropping the penny in the water, nothing had happened. The tulips were still just as droopy as ever. I figured my instinct was right, and vowed to love my droopy tulips just as much as I did when they were taller.

droopy tulips

But then, the next morning, I came downstairs to see my tulips were no longer droopy. They were upright as the day I first got them! Apparently, after dropping the penny in the water, you should let it do it’s thing for a day – and it’ll do it’s job to perk those tulips right up.

Another trick (I learned from Martha, because who else, really?) is to leave them in their paper wrapping and put them in cool water for a day before unwrapping them. She claims this “trains” them to stay upright. I was too impatient to get my beautiful birthday blooms out of their wrapping to try this one. But maybe if you’re using tulips for party decor? Might be worth a shot.

xoxo Mallory

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “How to Fix Droopy Tulips

  1. […] of these would be a perfect gift for the neutral-lover in your life! (Don’t forget how sweet white tulips are. Simple, understated, and perfect. The perfect opposite to the overpriced red […]

  2. Mary Elmer says:

    What a great idea! I bet you didn’t know I love tulips also! I am going to try that with the next batch. Thank you and I hope you had a great birthday..

What do you think?

