A Teepee Party

A Teepee Birthday Party | R.Simple Life

It’s February and instead of focusing on how the heck that happened, I’m going to go back to Harry’s first birthday. Papa was still deployed when Harry turned the big OH-ONE, so we held off until he was home to have Harry’s party. Which was all based around his birthday present. Which was a teepee.

DSC_0015

I think I had this present planned out before Harry was even a twinkle in my eye, but I’m so glad I got to go forward with it. I knew the kid would love his own little fort, and who are we kidding, I wanted one too. Which is why it lives in the corner of my living room. Also why it’s eight feet tall. I’ll work on a DIY if there is interest in hearing how I did it (with help from my husband… via FaceTime, because as I mentioned, he was deployed).

His birthday was great. I fed him two blueberry muffins for lunch, complete with a birthday candle, and he proceeded to jump off the walls and skip his afternoon nap. Harry and sugar do not play well. Even though we missed Papa like crazy, it was a really, really special day. And I was super emotional, of course.

But the party. We waited for Papa to be there and we built ourselves a little party around that big teepee in the corner. We had mini teepees on the table, giant leather-clad balloons, and all sorts of food I would expect a little boy would like to eat in a teepee – including hot dogs, baked beans, and s’mores cupcakes.

Harry had a few little friends over, we had some of nearest and dearest – including Nona, Uncle Justin, Aunt Veronica, and Aunt Jillian – and we celebrated one Harry year. It was fantastic. And now for the photographic evidence (Thanks Aunt Veronica for most of these!).

A Teepee Birthday Party | R.Simple LifeDSC_0018 DSC_0032 DSC_0029 DSC_0013 DSC_0119 A Teepee Birthday Party | R.Simple LifeA Teepee Birthday Party | R.Simple Life

Happy Birthday Harry. We love you buddy.

xoxo Mallory

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “A Teepee Party

  1. Emilia McG says:

    The picture of Harry with the toilet paper is awesome. It’s like an Abercrombie ad for the under-two set.

  2. Wendy says:

    How wonderful!

    Do you plan on keeping one of the small teepees and having it out at every Harry birthday? Or maybe using them for Christmas with little elves and figurines?

    It might be fun…says the Mom and Wife of a December baby and husband who is always thinking of how to make birthdays and Chtistmas memorable and personal.

What do you think?

