A Boy and A Pile of Doggies

Harry Does Ikea | R.Simple Life

Hey everyone. Man it’s been a while. Thanks for sticking around. Harry and I just had a nice long (two weeks!) trip to Michigan, and boy was it busy. But nice. Great to be around family this time of year. It gets a little lonely down south just the two of us sometimes.

As much as I loved being up North, and was really sad to leave, it feels ridiculously good to be home. A bit quieter, a bit lonelier, a bit warmer… but nice. Sometimes you just need your own bed and your own park. Harry’s slept 11 hours straight every night since we’ve been home. So that gives you a sense of how much he missed his room.

I was driving to the grocery store the other night and remembered this time last year. Something about the warm/cool damp, dark air, driving by the hospital… it brought me back to last year, driving with Jon to our birthing class at the hospital. Full of excitement and questions. Listening to Christmas music on the way, dreaming about our little boy. It seemed so far away but at the same time, it felt like yesterday.

This time it was a bit different. I had a different boy in the car with me. The anticipation for January was just as strong, but for a different reason. There was no more wondering what Harry was going to look like, sound like, feel like, act like. I had the squirmy (dare I say it) toddler in the backseat with me. The Christmas music was still playing. I was all at once ridiculously happy and very sad.

This year has held some of the most amazing, happy, warm moments of my life, as well as some that don’t rank as high on the list. At the end of the day, though, I can’t help but feel like the luckiest lady in the world. To have a husband who loves me and thinks of me every day. To miss him as much as I do. To rather share a bed than have the whole queen sized mattress to myself. To have a sweet little baby who is feisty and stubborn, but sweet and happy. To get baby hugs and kisses and to feel the weight of a little sleeping babe in my arms.

To have made it to another Christmas season. This year might be a little weird for me, but I’m determined to make it wonderful. It is the most wonderful time of the year, after all.

Well, hows that for the first post back? I meant to say “Hi! I’m home, and here’s a cute picture of Harry from our trip to Ikea, he loved the pile of doggies.” and that came out. Whoops.

xoxo Mallory

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “A Boy and A Pile of Doggies

  1. Mary Elmer says:

    I miss you already!!

What do you think?

