The Leaky Rubber Top to the Cup We Never Use

There are the motherhood milestones you expect. Things like waking up for the first time in months and realizing it’s light outside and your baby is still sleeping… or the first time your baby smiles at you… or the first time you get peed on. But then there are the motherhood milestones you never realized were milestones until you hit them. And then you think “I’m officially a mum.”

R.Simple Life | Motherhood Milestones You Never Considered

The other day we ran into one of the second kind. We were out for our run, had stopped at the park for a quick swing, and then ran home. When I put Harry back into the stroller at the park, I handed him the rubber top to his cup (he carries it around and holds it in his mouth like a stogie – it’s so funny). When we got home, it was gone.

Now, before I was a mother, I would have considered myself crazy for what I’m about to tell you. But now that I’m on the other side, I’m calling it a milestone and moving on. Harry isn’t particularly attached to this top (which, by the way, leaks like crazy, so we don’t even use as a cup). He sleeps just fine without it, he doesn’t need it to get a diaper change. But he really likes it. So after telling myself he’d be fine without it, then spending the afternoon thinking about that dang leaky rubber top, I decided instead of buying an entire new cup just for the top (why, yes, that did cross my mind), we’d just try to find it after his nap.

So we put on our rain coats and warm shoes, because yes, it was drizzling, and left the house to retrace our steps. I felt a little crazy, hawk-eyeing the ground looking for a rubber top, especially in the rain, but whatever. When we spotted it, we were both so excited – and it was all worth it. So instead of calling myself crazy, I’m just calling myself “Mum” today.

What is the crazy motherhood milestone that you never considered?

xoxo, Mallory

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “The Leaky Rubber Top to the Cup We Never Use

  1. Wendy says:

    I’ve always thought of motherhood as one flowing moment after another, so looking back and picking out milestone ones is challenging for me.

    Things have happened that are probably more memorable or memorable to others, but I feel that my journey as a mother is one that I share with Susanna alone (well and Scott, too, of course).

    The one that does stick out right now, upon a moment of reflection, was the decision to co-sleep. It wasn’t something I had ever intended, but it happened. It happened early on and it was best.

    Another, on the flip side, would be the decision to use “the gentle hand” method in transitioning her to her own crib (highly successful for us).

  2. Juju says:

    Wait until you climb into a dumpster to retrieve a retainer that got thrown away accidentally!

What do you think?

