Snapshot of the Weekend

Weekend Snapshot | R.Simple Life

This weekend was very deserved in R.Simple House. Last week was especially rough, with lots of unexpected unfun. There was only problem Friday night – an unexpected and unwelcome visitor was on her way: Tropical Storm Karen.

I just had a feeling a hurricane would be making it’s way towards the Gulf Coast soon, so I wasn’t shocked when I woke up Friday morning to a Hurricane Watch, which was later upgraded to a Hurricane Warning. Not shocked, but not happy. Harry and I secured all our chairs and pots and wood outside, made sure we had water and food, and braced ourselves for Karen.

Luckily, life threw me a bone and downgraded Tropical Storm Karen to a Tropical Depression before she got here, instead of the Cat 1 Hurricane which was predicted. We had a few smatterings of rain yesterday, including a twenty minute downpour that started seconds after I got home from my run, so that makes me think life and I are getting along again.

Regardless of the (not-so) raging storm headed our way, I took it easy. Last week really kicked my butt, so I rested this weekend. I worked out hard, loved hard, and played hard… but that was the extent of my hard work. I laughed a lot with my boy, read lots of books, sang lots of songs, did an enormous amount of cuddling… and I even snuck in a nap. And today I feel refreshed and ready for a new week to kick my butt. But I’ve got a good attitude, so it’s not going to be that bad.

How was your weekend?

xoxo, Mallory

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Snapshot of the Weekend

  1. Wendy says:

    This weekend we …

    *found some really great garage sale finds (new Melissa and Doug toys for $2, a brass bell, and an antique dresser to be refinished)!

    *ripped out more built ins (nothing says 7 am Sunday morning like tearing out things)!

    *learned how to clam, went clamming, and captured some amazing photographs of it in the process!

    *ripped out built ins, talked about what we wanted where in our back yard, and started the de-ponding process (it’s gonna be serious work and that’s cool because I have big plans for the de-ponded area)!

    *made pumpkin muffins, fried clams, and ole fashioned spaghetti sauce. Yum!

    *laughed a ton with our little girl as she babbled and walked everywhere she could!

What do you think?

