DIY Evergreen Mobile

R.Simple Life | DIY Evergreen Mobile

So, yesterday Harry’s cozy little room was featured on The Wise Baby. I know I’ve given you the full run down here, but I switched a few things up (HELLO semi-styled shelves) and added a couple of pieces. One of the pieces I added was a mobile I am 100% completely in love with. Which I made.

DIY Evergreen Mobile | R.Simple LifeDIY Evergreen Mobile | R.Simple Life

Want to know how to make it? I’ll tell you. It’s super easy. Just follow the steps below, but make sure you take about four months in between steps 4 and 5 to really make it perfect. That’s what I did.

Materials:

Balsa wood, exacto knife, thread, embroidery hoop, fishing line, graph paper, scissors

1. Decide on a shape and draw it on your graph paper. I’ll let you in on a secret, the less curves your shape has, the easier it’s going to be. I went with an Evergreen Tree (duh). Use your scissors to cut out your shape. This will be your stencil.

2. Trace your stencil onto your balsa wood. Draw as many of your shape as you think you’ll need, then add two-four more. Balsa wood tends to break easily… or is that just me? I went with two different sized trees, four of each.

3. Use your exacto knife to cut your shapes out of the balsa wood. Make sure you have something underneath the balsa wood you aren’t worried about scratching.

4. Use a needle or a thumb tack to poke a hole at the top of each of your shapes and thread enough thread to hang your shape as low as you’d like.

5. Tie your shapes to the embroidery hoop.

6. Use your fishing line to create three strings which will hang from your ceiling. Tie these to your embroidery hoop on one end, and a hook in your ceiling on the other end.

7. Voila! You’re done.

This is a super easy project that should only take about an hour or so, if you sit down all at once and knock it out. And I’m totally obsessed with it. I think Harry might like it too.

xoxo, Mallory

3 thoughts on “DIY Evergreen Mobile

  1. This is so stinking adorable, Mallory!!

What do you think?

