I Swore I’d Never

There were a lot of things I swore I’d never do before I became a mum. I was so convinced I knew it all. Well, here I am to eat my own words. Luckily, I’ve got a big jar of peanut butter to help them taste just a little better.

R.Simple Life | Things I Swore I'd Never Do (as a mother)

I swore I’d never…

…call the toilet and/or bathroom the potty. But I did.
…let my kid sleep in my bed. But I love it.
…give into a whine instead of a request. But I did it without even realizing.
…let my kid wear clothes that had poop/puke/pee on them. But check, check, and check.
not leave my kid with a babysitter. But… still haven’t.
…consider not going on vacation with my kid. But I have no clue how I’d leave him.
…forget to shower. But there have been a few smelly days.
…let my laundry pile up. But I’m sitting next to a mountain now.

I have, however, refrained from using the double poo or double pee’s. Just goes to show, no matter how much you feel like you’ve got it all figured out, there’s nothing like a baby to teach you how much you don’t know. What did you swear you’d never do?

xoxo, Mallory

Tagged

2 thoughts on “I Swore I’d Never

  1. Rachel says:

    I swore I’d never shelter my kids the way I was sheltered. I hated how I grew up oblivious to everything. And if never tell my kids I can’t do something or take them somewhere because of how tired I am

  2. Wendy says:

    Oh, Mallory, my mother-in-law refers to baby puke as “baby perfume,” for “once you’re in your nicest clothes, they puke on you and want you to smell special.” Perhaps our children are self-perfuming/cologning if that’s such a reality?

    I’d never make hollow threats, but I have…and then I add “but these are just words expressing frustration (or sadness) right now.” It’s only happened once or twice, but it’s enough for me to end it.

    I’d never give up regular work out time to be with our girl more, but I have (though it’s about to change).

What do you think?

