Buy An External Hard Drive

How many times have I read a post on someone else’s blog about how their hard drive crashed and took every single picture of theirs with it? How many people begged me to buy an external hard drive so the same thing wouldn’t happen to me? How was I so sure I was immune to it all?

R.Simple Life | Buy A Hard Drive

My hard drive crashed. It’s going to cost well above what the computer was worth brand new to recover anything (unless my neighbor can work his magic on it… fingers crossed). Basically, I have resigned myself to the fact that I lost every singe image that was saved on that hard drive. Meaning, all the pictures of Harry’s first eight months.

I’ve cried about this a handful of times (and in fact I’m trying to not tear up thinking about the pictures of little three day old Harry on Papa’s chest, or three month old Harry sitting up for the first time, or Harry and Papa on the beach a month ago). I’ve kicked myself more than a handful of times. Why, why, why oh why was I so comfortable keeping every single image on that hard drive, and only that hard drive?

I know pictures are just pictures. It’s the the quantity of pictures, but the quality. And lucky for me, I have this blog. This blog that I have uploaded a lot of my favorite pictures. So I haven’t lost everything. But I lost a lot. It’s been a particularly emotional week for me.

Harry is growing by the minute. Every time I blink I swear he gets bigger or learns to do something new. Yesterday he stood on his own two legs, not hanging on to anything, for a good ten seconds. He was so proud of himself. I don’t have a picture of that – it’s all in my brain. So why am I so upset that I lost all of my pictures?

Because he’s only this big once. He’s only in the stage once. He’s going to be graduating high school before I know it, and all I will have from this stage of his life are pictures (and that one outfit I forced him into until his head wouldn’t fit through the neck anymore, because I’m sure I’ll save that). I’m not a particularly sentimental person. But for some reason, these pictures are killing me.

I know. I’m being a little dramatic. But please. Please, please, please learn from my mistake and back up your pictures. Print them out, put them on an external hard drive, upload them to a site like Flickr. Don’t be like me and ignore this piece of advice. Don’t lose pictures like that gorgeous one of Harry above. And please, cross your fingers than we can recover these pictures – without spending an arm and a leg.

xoxo, Mallory

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Buy An External Hard Drive

  1. […] September, my hard drive crashed, taking all of my pictures with it. Luckily I had been documenting Harry’s first year of life […]

  2. I am so sorry Mallory! I am crossing my fingers, toes and everything in between you can recover your photos. We use smugmug (http://www.smugmug.com) to back up/store all of our photos. It is a paid service but something we budget for because we know how easily our trusty hard drives can fail us! xoxoxo

  3. Grandma J says:

    I’m so sorry Mal!! I know it’s not the same but I do have maybe 600-700 pictures saved that I copied, you sent me or I took. I will try to load them up on a thumb drive and send it to you. Love you and see you next week!!

  4. sprout says:

    Mallory, I am so sorry to hear this! I lost a number of the (crummy) ipod photos of V’s first few months when I stupidly ran an update without backing up my files. Still bumming about it. I recently found out about this site http://www.backblaze.com It seems like pretty good prices for the piece of mind it would offer. Just thought I’d share. Fingers crossed you can get those photos back!

What do you think?

