On Sleep Training.

Thoughts about sleep training a three month old

So yesterday I made a decision that was altogether big and small and important and sad and happy. We’re sleep training. I feel like Harry is finally ready. He’s no longer the little infant who only cries when he needs something to sustain his life and contentment. He’s (dare I say it without choking up) growing up. Don’t ask me how I’m sleep training, because I don’t know. I can’t stand to hear that little boy cry, so it’s not going to be all Ferberizing up in here. But I’m not about to let him run the show, requiring a good rocking to sleep until he’s nine and embarrassed by it. So we’re somewhere in between and making it up as we go.

Yesterday started the process by letting him put himself to sleep. Getting him to third base, but putting it on him to bring it home. I know, I know. Some of you have been doing this since the beginning. But I liked to rock my baby to sleep. So sue me. It worked decently for naps (I only had to go up there two or three times to help him get back to sleepy state before he passed out) but then came bed time.

We have a bed time routine. We’ve had it since Day 3, our first day home from the hospital. It goes something like this: bath time, snuggles, bedtime nurse/Harry Potter reading, rocking, bed. It’s my favorite time of most days. All three of us love it. Well, I realized last night that if indeed it is true that consistency is the name of the game when it comes to parenting (and I’m a firm believer that it is) the rocking part of the bed time routine was going to be cut short. No more sleeping baby in my arms, sneaking him into his crib. Now I have a big boy. A drowsy baby in my arms, laying him in his crib, giving him a kiss and watching intently on the monitor to make sure he doesn’t need one or two more kisses.

Call me crazy, but I miss it. I miss him needing his Mum’s rocking. My songs. My warm body. He is doing outstandly well at this sleep training thing (knock on wood). It’s me whose having a rough time with it. I accidentally blinked my eyes and now he’s almost 15 weeks old. From here on out, he’s just going to get bigger, more independent. I don’t think it’s so crazy to mourn the loss of sleep rocking.

And I’ll tell you this. Once we get this sleep training thing down, we might just enjoy a night or two of sleep rocking for old time sake. So sue me.

xoxo, Mallory

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “On Sleep Training.

  1. sprout says:

    We have /just/ started making a concerted effort at sleep training V. It seems to be hit or miss as to how she takes it. Last night was a glorious 10.5 hours of uninterrupted sleep (8-630!! I am drunk on sleep!) But monday night she was up every hour from 2-6. But all in all we seem to be rounding a corner in the sleep department.

    It took me considerably longer to be convinced she was truly ok missing those nighttime feedings. She was NOT a fan of the bottle for the longest time, which essentially meant a hunger strike during day time daycare hours. But now that we’re introducing solids and shes feeding herself like a champ, the night feeds are seeming more like habit than necessity. Hence the switch.

    I picked up the book ‘sleeping through the night’ from the library. Those principles coupled with sending jeff in for night time soothing seems to be doing the trick for us.

    I hope your transition goes smoothly! (yay sleep!)

    • Mallory says:

      Harry is not ready to let go of both/all three of his nighttime feedings just yet. My goal for the next few months is just to dwindle it down to one, then to none, when he’s ready. My biggest concern with starting Sleep Training this early is getting him to realize he can put himself back to sleep – especially during the day.

      Honestly, I love night time feedings! It’s kind of sweet knowing it’s just Harry and I awake in the neighborhood. I’ll be a little sad (but very well rested) when he transitions those out.

      Good luck momma! I’ll have to check out that book when I think Harry’s ready for nighttime sleep. XO

  2. jillasiala says:

    Just wait until the day that you army crawl out of his or her, Wendy, room so they don’t see you and it takes about 15 minutes to make it all the way out. When this happens, don’t crack up half way through the crawl because you remember I said this. You will only have to start all over.

    And ps, you gave up stories and snuggle time and even the shunshine song before I was ever ready

  3. Wendy says:

    I still nurse Susanna to sleep, and she’s about 1 month older than Harry. Will i do it forever? No. Certainly no! Yet, it’s one of the joys I have as a work-at-home mom.

    It’s always worked for her and us, and so be it. She’s healthy, well loved, etc.

    Yes, I’m aware that she’s crying to see my reaction now, so we’re working with that, too. For me, it’s a balance of structure mixed with mom’s intuition on what is needed in a moment.

    Each mom and family knows what’s best for her/it. Best to you with the sleep training and rocking times! Mourn all you want- it’s your journey!

  4. duchess1 says:

    Whatever works for you and Harry! Sounds like he is adapting well and maybe you can catch a nap or two when he does.

What do you think?

