30 Days of Thanks: Day 30

eb0c668a55a711e1a87612313804ec91_7

Today I am thankful for my body. For eyes that see so much beauty in the world – but also see hurt and suffering. Because then I can something about it. For a nose that can smell warm, baked apples with cinnamon from a mile away. For my mouth that can taste wonders, speak very big things, and can stay shut at the most worthy of moments. For my legs that carry me to where I need to go, be it running, walking, biking or sitting. For my feet, for they can run marathons, climb mountains, and play footsie with my husband. For my hands that can hold on to the most important things. For my arms that can wrap around my loves. For a stomach that fancies chocolate, cheese, bread, and cereal most. For the muscles I work so hard to maintain and build, which are my strength when they need to be. For my heart that pumps the blood I need to every inch of my body, and holds so many people, places, and secrets.

There has never been a time in my life that I have been more aware of my body and the wonders it can do. Right now it is growing another human being. My son. Providing him with nourishment to grow, protection from the outside world, warmth to keep him smiling, and a sense of safety I hope I can always give to him. There have been times when I have been frustrated with the changes in my body in these last 9 months, but mostly, I’m just so thankful for everything my body does.

I know not everyone is as lucky as I am. Some people cannot see. Some people cannot walk. Some people cannot grow a child. So today, on our final of the 30 Days of Thanks, I am ever grateful for my body.

xoxo, Mallory

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “30 Days of Thanks: Day 30

  1. Mom says:

    That made my eyes water a little 🙂 I love all of you too!!

  2. Wendy says:

    Too funny!
    I was thinking about this today, and so might I just say “ditto” on the body bit and much of what you wrote?

    I realize that in a span of hours? days- which are really mere hours… our little girl will be born and there will be a body separation.

    I am so thankful for this body that has embraced pregnancy, yearns for a trail run, creates beauty with its hands, looks into the eyes of its body-mate (aka hub), and cherishes the nutrition that it absorbs!

    To put it in perspective, I remember about 3 years ago when aunt had a failed stomach-small intestine bypass due to tumors that made it a non-reality. The gift of chewing wasn’t something she could enjoy or in which she could participate. She lived on a g-tube that leaked stomach acid causing 3rd degree burns (and as a nurse she knew the impact!).

    It was in a moment at the grocery store, waiting in line, that I vowed to be grateful for the gift of food in my mouth! That my teeth could move up-down and I could digest was mind boggling to me.

    So for all of those big and little systems in the body- thanks! 🙂

What do you think?

