Black and White Feels So Right

We’ve lived in our house for three months now, and this weekend I finally put a nail in the wall. To hang a mirror. Two mirrors were put up, and that is where mission “Make House Homey” stalled. You see, I have lots of windows in my living room and for the first time, we’ll be at this house long enough for me to consider curtains. And the thing about curtains is, you should hang them before you start hanging too many pictures on the wall to avoid utter chaos.

About a month ago, I decided to try my hand at drop cloth curtains. They seem easy enough. Every home, DIY, and mommy blogger in the blogosphere has repurposed drop cloths framing their windows (or so it seems). With the enormous amount of white walls in our home, I decided to dye the drop clothes a dark steely-blue color. And failed. They turned out light denim. Not even a cool light denim. The light denim I would call akin to the overalls your mom stuck you in sometime in the early 90s. They probably had some cool peace sign patches on them too. Not exactly what I wanted as window coverings.

So, against my better judgement (because it’s let me down numerous times before), I grabbed two boxes of Navy Rit dye and attempted to darken up two panels. They turned purple. As I had suspected they would. Big, fat fail.

I had given up on the DIY drop cloth curtains. I was shopping Ikea.com, Pottery Barn online, Target, Walmart (because when you live where I live, those are about the only options) for a different option. I decided to dye one set of the drop cloths black for our bedroom (because black was pretty much the only color that would cover that horrendous purple) when the thought that they might feel a little dark and depressing crossed my mind.

Enter Pinterest. After a quick search for “Black Curtains White Walls” I am cautiously putting one foot back on the DIY drop cloth curtains for my living room train. It’s really more like a toe. A toe is on the train. The rest of me is thinking this will probably be a failure, but it was worth a shot, especially when I found a leftover Hobby Lobby gift card in my wallet that would pay for a few boxes of black dye.

I have very low expectations that (A) the dye will even set right and look nice and (B) I will actually like the outcome enough to put them in my living room for all to see. But it’s worth a shot (after all the time and money I’ve already put into these bad boys) so I’m going to attempt before I give up completely and just order these. And to prove I’m not totally crazy about the black curtains (I can hear some of your scoffs already) here are a few photos I dug up for inspiration. Remember. My house is a huge maze of white walls. White everywhere. So layering in some moodier shades and textures MAY just work.

Wish me luck.

xoxo, Mallory

image sources: 1, 2, 3, 4

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Black and White Feels So Right

  1. jillasiala says:

    Did the black make the purple more navy? I like purple 😉

What do you think?

