30 Days of Thanks: Day 8

Christmas Music. Today is brought to you by Christmas Music. You know, the old, sentimental Burl Ives, Bing Crosby, Elvis Presley crooning Christmas Music. Nothing puts me in a happy mood quicker than a good Christmas song. In fact, I was a little grumpy (what, I’m pregnant) in the grocery store the other day… until a Christmas song came on the radio. I couldn’t tell you what songs were playing before that or after that, but when Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas came on, my face lit up and I was in a phenomenally better mood.

The little guy takes after his mom in this love of Christmas Music. In fact, he seems to have turned in the last few days and his kicks aren’t as strong or as often, so anytime I am a little worried about him or just want to feel a little dance in my belly, without fail, turning on the Christmas Music gets him going. It’s a special little bond we share and I can’t wait to celebrate the holidays with him every year.

Living in Mississippi has been a little hard this time of the year. When friends are posting pictures walking in their snowy Winter Wonderland and I’m still breaking a sweat the minute I step outside, well let’s just say it’s not my favorite thing. And with the little guy due in January, we can’t really take a vacation to snow this winter. It will be a snow-less year for our family. But Christmas Music makes that all a little better. When it’s playing in the background, a cinnamon candle is burning, and I’m bundled up in a Scottish Wool blanket with my love, it’s all okay.

Who else is thankful today?

xoxo, Mallory

Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “30 Days of Thanks: Day 8

  1. Wendy says:

    I’m thankful for the Manager’s Specials at a local grocery store. Seriously, being able to rummage through a few carts, finding stuff at 50% or less of the original cost of things that are truly needed is a blessing!

    I’m trying to think if we ever had snow in MS when we lived near where you are. I do remember one time when there was a bad freeze. Many people had their pipes freeze in their home.

    As a result, a bunch of those folks attempted to “thaw” the pipes with a blow torch. Yes, I kid you not. Many houses had fire damage as a result.

    Ours did not, as my Dad had previously re-piped the house before and used a hair dryer at the joints. Thankfully the man knew his stuff from Indiana days and we still laugh about it to this day.

  2. Amy says:

    This couldn’t have been more perfectly timed. Yesterday, I pulled out some of our Christmas decorations and announced to the house that, “If you think it’s too early for Christmas decorations than you can move OUT.” :] No one messes with my holiday spirit. No one.

  3. It snowed when we lived in Pensacola, so I think there is still hope for you!

What do you think?

