Rain

I woke up to thunder, lightning, and lots and lots of rain this morning. This kind of weather makes me gloomy. But the best kind of gloomy. Like the kind you get when listening to Bon Iver. Or when you experience something bittersweet – but a bit more milk chocolate than unsweetened chocolate. It’s the kind of gloomy I live for; it makes me think I would absolutely love living in the Pacific Northwest.

The only problem was, all I wanted to do was snuggle in bed all morning with my warm husband. And that couldn’t happen. So for now, I’m working in the dark living room listening to the sound of the rain outside. And I’m happy.

How does rain make you feel?

xoxo, Mallory

Tagged , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Rain

  1. Zeta says:

    I love that kind of gloomy! The winter days here where I live are short and dark, so I’m glad I’m one of those that appreciate a cup of coffee with rain splattering the window, and doesn’t mind going out in the cold because I so love coming back in with wind-stung cheeks.

  2. Complete opposite of everything you just said! 😉

  3. Wendy says:

    Rain is awesome!

    Last year I experienced a first: a flood day at school. It was the fourth day of the school year, and our county shut down at the recommendation of the police department who felt that buses would have a challenge picking up students.

    Now that we live in northern Utah, we have blue skies, blue skies, and blue skies. We’ve had maybe 6 or 7 days that have had rain since the 4th of July. It’s an adjustment. It’s one for which I am grateful when I see the Wasatch Mountains out my front door every day.

    Yet, I cherish the days of rain, and I love seeing the fire signs at “moderate” on a pretty blue background.

    • Mallory says:

      The kids around here had a hurricane day (or three) this year! A first for me, definitely.

      I can relate to the beautiful blue skies of the west, even if there is little rain. We didn’t get much in Colorado (where I lived for three years) and I missed it… but not too much because the weather we did get, was amazing. I miss Colorado.

What do you think?

