Recipe Fail

source

If you follow me on Pinterest, you may have seen me repin this Apples & Cinnamon Breakfast Quinoa recipe and thought to yourself, “YUM.” That was my thought when I pinned the recipe. I’m a oatmeal fan and apples & cinnamon anything sounds fabulous to me. Quinoa is also high on my list of yummy foods. So it had to be good, right?

Eh. Not really. I wasn’t overwhelmed with food joy. I wasn’t totally underwhelmed either. I was simply whelmed. Can you be just whelmed? It wasn’t as sweet as I wanted it, and it was drowning in milk. Overall, not my favorite recipe trial, and I probably won’t be making it again.

As for my self inflicted 30 Days of Homemade Food challenge – I’m doing okay. I had dinner prepared FOR me twice in the last four weeks. The first time we picked up a pizza after starting, and stopping (due to lack of sufficient ingredients) TWO different dinners in one evening. And the second time was just before Jon went out of town for a while. We wanted a special date. I felt terribly guilty after the pizza, but not so much after the date. I suppose that has taught me the lesson that eating out can be wonderful. If used as a special time. If used because I forgot spaghetti sauce AND rice while grocery shopping, or out of laziness, or out of cravings, not so great.

I’ve still got the rest of the week to make it on home cooked meals. Wish me luck!

xoxo, Mallory

PS I’m thinking of making THESE. What do you think?

Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “Recipe Fail

  1. Wendy says:

    My favorite breakfast or dessert quinoa recipe is this: quinoa and honey. Sometimes I’ll add a pinch of almond milk to make it more porridge-y. It may be an acquired taste, but it works for me and is healthy.

  2. Amy says:

    Do the cookies. The quinoa LOOKS great, but I’ve found that unless there are sufficient herbs and spices and all of that, it’s a bit BLAND.

    • Mallory says:

      TOTALLY bland! What a bummer. I think I needed more sugar + spices. But that would negate the health benefits. So I think I’ll just scratch this one off my recipe list.

  3. can’t really go wrong with cookies for breakfast…

What do you think?

