Challenge Accepted: 30 Days of Homemade Cookin’

Do you read A Cup of Jo? It’s one of my favorite daily blog reads, and Joanna is one of my favorite lady crushes. She’s interesting + funny, and always seems to talk about what I want to hear about.

Well, she and her husband realized they were eating out (or ordering in) a bit too much and decided to rectify the situation. They vowed to stay home and cook for the entire month of September. No dining out. No grabbing something quick on the way home. Good, home cooked meals every night.

Jonathan and I recently realized we have been doing a lot more eating out as well. I guess that’s what happens when you finally live somewhere that has delicious restaurants. Especially when you’ve been so deprived for so long. But I’m sick of it. I’m almost six months pregnant and should definitely be eating meals that I know are good for me. Dishes where I can recognize every ingredient. So I believe we’ll be taking the challenge as well. It’s going to be interesting… J works evenings often, which means I’ll be on my own – cooking for one (or one and a little bean, if you want to get technical). He also takes trips. Which means he might be cheating on the challenge, seeing as though a home cooked meal in a hotel is pretty impossible.

But I’m doing it. I’ll let you know how it goes (and if I succeed). So now, share with me your favorite recipes. I’ll need some the next 30 days…

xoxo, Mallory

yummy image via Cookin’ Canuck – delish looking recipe for a hearty chicken soup with butternut squash and quinoa. 

Tagged , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Challenge Accepted: 30 Days of Homemade Cookin’

  1. anastasiars says:

    Here’s my fav! You can add or subtract any ingredients you want!

    http://www.veggie-wedgie.com/?p=2183

  2. Amy says:

    Do you want to know what my easy, go-to meal for protein and flavor is? Homemade quesadillas. I suggest slightly mashing some black beans with garlic, lime, and a little bit of cayenne and then adding whatever toppings you want to it. SO GOOD. And easy. Especially during the nights where it’s just you. :]

  3. Crock pot is my new best friend. I’m pretty sure you have one, as I remember smelling delicious baked potato soup all day one day. Break that baby out for minimal effort deliciousness! 😉

What do you think?

