Dream Locale

A dream home.

Are you an ocean or a mountain person? Do you like celebrating all four seasons or are you a fan of the one season – warm – of the south? College football Southerner or NFL New Englander? What I’m getting at is this: is there one perfect location, one fabulous spot, you’d love to live?

If you’re lucky enough to live in your dream locale, we can’t be friends. Just kidding, but know I am completely jealous of you. The military sends us all over the place. We just completed our seventh move in five years. 7 in 5! And let me tell you this… I miss seasons.

I don’t know where my most perfect spot is. I miss the mountains, the hiking, the nature and lifestyle of Colorado. Every day. I miss the lakes, the seasons, the family and friends of Michigan. All the time. I miss what I assume to be the most perfect gloomy weather of the Pacific Northwest, even if I’ve never been there. I miss the lobster and quaint little beach towns of New England, again, never being there.

So really, is there a perfect spot for me? I don’t know. Is this a place: 4 wonderful seasons, with deep snows in the winter, showers and tulips in the spring, warm water to swim in the summer, and leaves and hot cocoa for the fall? Small towns where you know your neighbors and give the mailman a Christmas gift every year? Homes that are not too big, but perfectly cute and charming and within walking distance of water? Hiking and biking and running and walking trails a quick step away? Family close enough to pop over for Sunday dinner and celebrate Thanksgiving around the big table? All the modern amenities within reach, yet all the small town charm?

Because if so, that’s where I want to be. What about you?

xoxo, Mallory

image via A Well Travelled Woman

Tagged ,

7 thoughts on “Dream Locale

  1. Emily says:

    Sounds like Traverse City!

  2. Amy says:

    Your dream home is my dream home. On the water. Preferably Lake Michigan. Northern Michigan, near Traverse City. But I could also live in a sleepy beach town in North or South Carolina. Or Australia again. You can visit.

  3. anastasiars says:

    I would like to live in your dream home! I am thinking Northern California. Or maybe Germany?? I’d love that. Hmmm too hard to pick.

What do you think?

