Siblings

Me, second from the left, with my cousins.

How many kids do you want?

If it were up to Jonathan, we’d have a baseball team of children. We’d have a huge family. He grew up with two sisters and one brother. And lots of cousins.

As for me, I’m not sure how many I want yet. I grew up with three brothers and one sister, and lots of cousins, and loved it. Sure there were moments where being the oldest of 5 wasn’t my favorite thing of the day, but most of the time, having someone to play with anytime was great. And growing up and seeing us all become the people we’re going to be – is pretty awesome. I’ve got built in friends for life.

But back to the question at hand. How many kids do we want? It’s not an easy answer. Somedays I can’t imagine having more than 2 kids (on on each hand), a dog, a cat, and a deployed husband. I can’t even imagine having a dog, a cat, and a deployed husband. But then I remember how great a big family can be. How much support is there. And I think, well maybe 4.

Honestly, we’ll take it one at a time. After this first Baby is born, we’ll definitely have one more. And if that’s not enough, we’ll have another. Until we’re done. I’m kind of thinking 3 might be a magic number.

Now… how far apart do you want them?

Tagged ,

11 thoughts on “Siblings

  1. anastasiars says:

    I want 4 boys!!! But also maybe 2 or 3.. haha That’s a lot of college to pay for… but also a LOT of love. Maybe I’ll keep going until I’ve used up all of my favorite kid’s names πŸ™‚

  2. emily says:

    I would love 3 or 4 but Seth on the other hand only wants 2. Is it bad that I am thinking about when we will have baby #2 and baby #1 isn’t even here yet? πŸ™‚

  3. Amy says:

    I love that photo. SO cute. I’m with you trying to figure out that magic number. One day at a time seems to be the best answer, but GOSH 4 sounds fun [for them. For the kids. I’m sure I’ll be tired [but full of love]]. I want two big dogs, though, so how does that fit in? And Aaron doesn’t want more than 2 [only because he can’t imagine providing for more than 3 people. And two dogs]. I wrote you a letter about this, actually!

  4. Kim says:

    3 to 4! One is spoiled, two can be too, three helps you learn to share and that life is about more than what you want as a kid. 2-3 years apart.

  5. Mike Marinelli says:

    Love that photo!!! We had 7 kids in a house less than 1000 sq. ft. πŸ™‚ I don’t know how we did it thinking back but it worked :-)) We were all mostly almost 2 years apart. With parents that is basically 100 sq. ft. per person!!

What do you think?

