Duke

Poor Duke. He’s getting the short end of this pregnancy stick. This first trimester has been rough on Mama. Morning sickness, exhaustion, and more morning sickness has meant the normal running/biking/yoga/gym routine has waned. A lot. Add to that the unimaginable heat of a landlocked southern state (I am a northern girl through and through) and the walks have become less frequent and much shorter.

So poor Duke hasn’t been getting as much exercise as he is used to. Not to mention the fact that he hasn’t had enough Doggy Play Dates since leaving Oklahoma. He’s bored. And BAD.

I feel bad for the guy, I really, really do. I know it isn’t easy to lose out on your regular workout routine. I KNOW. Just because I’m miserably glued to the couch doesn’t mean I don’t desperately miss my workouts. I do. And so does Duke. But all this pent up energy has got to go somewhere. So it goes to barking at Fred, the neighbor dog. Chasing his tail in the guest room. Whining instead of using his bell to get outside. Overall, just being a bad dog.

And I have no patience for it. He is driving me crazy. I’m home with him all day, and all night, and I am about ready to set him free. So today, I am reminding myself of the wonderful dog I have. The dog who protects me like his life depends on it when Jon is gone. The dog who listens to almost every command, even if it is begrudgingly. The dog who is sweet as can be, and just wants to rest his head on my lap. The dog who loves me more than anything.

There is good news! This week has been significantly less nauseous. I’m still exhausted, but not so nauseous. Which means, we’ve been incorporating a bit more power walking into our mornings. And next week… if this continues, we’re going to attempt a few runs again. So there is a light at the end of the tunnel Duke.

I’m going to have to lose the baby weight some way…

xoxo, Mallory

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Duke

  1. Amy says:

    Your dog is adorable. But I totally get the annoying dog thing. Four days in a row with Hurley is great for him but not super great for me [on rainy days]. It will get better! Then he’ll have a baby to look out for!

  2. jillasiala says:

    I think I would take up running for my grand puppy if I didn’t have these three little fractures and didn’t know how much you are really missing it too!

What do you think?

